What if you had more time in your day? What would you do? How would you use this extra time?

imagesCA1145KR

These are all questions we should ask ourselves more often in order to inspire us to act rather than just think and like a lot of people, complain. 

Would you spend more time with your family, or perhaps do a bit more travel. What is your passion in life and more to the point what is your PURPOSE? Have you ever asked yourself as to WHY you are here on this earth? I know up until recently I hadn’t thought about this is in a very long time, nor have I really ever had any direction in my life. I have met a lot of people in my situation so I know I am not alone, which is why I want to help others find more time to do the things they truly want.

 I am almost 29, married, a mother and with no idea what my real purpose in life was.  I have spent a lot of my time just living the same mundane life suffering from ‘same thing different day’ syndrome. Then I got to thinking one day….. Is this really all there is?  Don’t get me wrong, I have a great husband and a gorgeous daughter, yet it felt like something was missing.   I didn’t want to get into my 40’s or 50’s and still be stressing about money and regretting the things I hadn’t done. Surely there had to be more to life than just this; so it made me start thinking and looking for answers.

 This started me down the road of personal development.  Over the years I knew this kind of thing existed, but hadn’t had much experience with it, not to mention the abundance of information and where to start.  However, the one thing I have learnt on this journey is that you don’t have to see the whole staircase to take the first step, and the best time to start something is now.  There is no perfect time to start something and we are all guilty of at some point or another of making excuses.  Don’t wait to start working on yourself, the self within, make the choice today and your future-self will thank you for it. 

 Looking back on my life to date there are a number of things I wanted to do or achieve.  However, either fear or life always seemed to get in the way.  Now I know that everything I have been through has made me the person I am today.  I do wonder though at how my life would have been different if I had made a different choice minus my excuses; which are just a product of fear.  This is how bad I used to be at putting things off and making excuses.  I saw an ad in the local paper looking for volunteer tutors to work for The Smith Family.  This ad had been sitting in my paperwork since December 2011, yes that’s right 2011.  In starting my journey in personal development I was told that I needed to spend more time doing the things I am passionate about.  Learning, teaching and helping others is one thing I love doing.  So, I made the choice, a choice to stop making excuses and find a way.  There is a solution to every problem, it is just whether or not you can be bothered looking for it.  I emailed The Smith Family recently and will be helping them out 1 day a week tutoring kids from under-privileged families and I can’t wait.

 I am sure there are plenty of you thinking that it is all well and good to talk about doing these things, but how do you make more time?  Let me share a few tips that have helped me.  The first is to take some time to reflect and write a list of all of the things you would like to do and haven’t.  This list will be something you can look at to remind yourself of what you want to achieve and help keep you focused.  Work on eliminating the things in life that don’t help move you in the direction of achieving your goals.  I used to watch a lot of television, probably a couple of hours every day.  Now I am lucky to watch 4 hours per week, instead using that time more productively.

 The second step involves a few things which I usually allow 20 minutes before I go to bed every night.  Firstly take 5-10 minutes to plan the following day as this will help you in utilising your time.

http://www.liveanddreamtoday.com

 

One thought on “What if you had more time in your day? What would you do? How would you use this extra time?

  1. This is a question many people have asked themselves they want more time. The way I see it is that we have enough time in the day to do all that needs to be done. Our problem is we don’t prioritize our time. We waste most of our time doing things which are not important to begin with. When we become good stewards over our time then we won’t have to ask that old question I wish I had more time…

Leave a Reply

