How To Help Overcome Stress

stress

Today I am going to cover stress, what it is, how it is caused, the implications of it and what you can do to change your situation.  Stress is such a commonly heard word today, I don’t know that a day goes by that I don’t hear it used.  Stress is the word we use, but what is it really? 

All stress begins with one negative thought.  One negative thought that went unchecked and then more thoughts came until it manifested itself into stress.  When you think about it though and look beneath the surface, stress is just Fear.  Fear of not having enough money, Fear of not having enough time, Fear of not being good enough and the list goes on.  If you think about all the times you have been stressed I am sure you will find that there is some sort of fear behind it.  We talk about stress to our friends, colleagues, family and sometimes even complete strangers.  However, if you look at it from the perspective of Law of Attraction, by talking about stress all the time you are verbalising your thoughts.  All this will do is simply attract more of it into your life, this being one of the mistakes I used to make.

Stress not only impacts how you live your life and the way you think, but it can have serious implications on your health.  Have you ever had that feeling in your stomach when you are highly stressed?  It kind of tense up, ties itself in knots and makes you feel a little sick.  This is your body’s way of letting you know that what you are doing isn’t good.

“Our physiology creates disease to give us feedback, to let us know we have an imbalanced perspective, or we’re not being loving and grateful.  So the body’s signs and symptoms are not something terrible”.  Dr John Demartini

Stress is responsible for a lot when it comes to your health.  It can shorten your lifespan, cause stomach ulcers, heart attack, stroke, panic attacks and the list goes on.  It is probably one of society’s biggest epidemics in this fast pace environment we live in.

It can be challenging when you are surrounded by people who stress out all the time to not get caught up in it yourself.  I grew up with my Mum stressing about everything.  Not a day went by that she didn’t stress about something which generally didn’t manifest.  As I got older I started showing signs of the exact same behaviour.  At the start of the year I made the choice that I was going to change my behaviour.  I didn’t enjoy being the ‘what if’ person and worrying about things that hadn’t or didn’t even happen.  At the end of the day Fear really just stands for False Evidence Appearing Real.  It doesn’t serve me or my purpose in life so I began to make the changes necessary to overcome what I spent so long believing.  I knew it wasn’t going to be easy and I have certainly had my challenges this year to test my determination, but I know that it is worth it and the hard work will pay off tenfold.

The good news is, it isn’t all doom and gloom and with a little persistence and work there are things you can do to limit the stress.  The first thing you need to look at is your environment and the people you spend your time with.  If you spend a lot of time around other people who stress a lot than you need to cut down the time you spend with them.  Now you don’t need to cut ties with them all together, but at the end of the day you become a product of your environment.  You need to decide what you want, than create the environment necessary to achieve your goal.  The next thing to do is each day or when you are feeling stressed, ask yourself, “What do I believe to be true that isn’t”.  So many times the beliefs that we have are ones that have been manifested from others or bad situations that generally turn out to not be true.  The third thing to do and I have mentioned it in previous articles is journal.  It can prove to be quite helpful to write down how you are feeling and ask yourself questions.  Why do I feel like this?  What has caused this feeing?  What can I do now to change this feeling?  You will find that what you think is the problem is only the problem on the surface.  You may discover there is something on a deeper level that you need to deal with.  This is why personal development and working on you is so beneficial.

I nearly forgot one of the most important elements in overcoming stress and that is laugh.  Make a conscious effort every single day to laugh and if you have nothing to laugh at than watch a funny movie.  Laughter really is the best medicine and more importantly it makes you feel good.  I hope you all enjoy your journey to a happier and less stressful life.

Leave a comment