7 STEPS TO ACHIEVING SUCCESS

Don't let excuses stop you!

Don’t let excuses stop you!

Stoppers/Excuses

Well, we are up to part 4 in our steps to achieving success and I hope you have all been utilising the tips so far and found them useful.  If you have missed the previous parts you can click on the links here, part 1, part 2, and part 3.  The topic this week is stoppers and excuses and how they impact the decisions and choices we make.  We hear them each and every day, “I’m too old “,”I don’t have time”, “It’s too expensive” and the list goes on.  We also allow others to be stopper in our lives such as our partner, children, boss, parents, ourselves, friends etc.  Have you stopped to think about how much this impacts the choices and decisions you make in life, the way you live your life, what you have missed out on.  Now is a great time to take a moment to reflect on how your life is and the decisions you have or haven’t made lately.

Excuses impact your life on a daily basis and for some of you it has become second nature.  I know for myself it had become a daily habit and one that I wanted to kick.  When I reflected on my life I could see the opportunities that I had missed out on because I refused to say yes to life.  There are a number of reason as to why we use excuses, it could be Fear that is causing us to use excuses, it could be that what we are making excuses about just aren’t that high on our values list.  For me it is cleaning.  As much as I like having a clean house and can certainly see the benefit, I will avoid it like the plague because it is just not high on my priority list.  The next time you hear yourself using an excuse STOP AND THINK!! Why are you using this excuse, what are you avoiding or what opportunity could you be missing out on?

Stopper are a part of our life each and every single day, they are around every turn and on every street corner.  So what do I mean by Stoppers?  Well, these are people who stop us from taking a particular action, making a decision, turning down an opportunity, make us question our choices.  You will find however, that ultimately your biggest stopper will be YOU.  You may be surrounded by external stoppers each and every single day, but you get the final choice.  For me I found that my husband was a huge stopper for me, apart from myself and I had to really work on changing that.  However, it wasn’t about changing my husband because we all know that you can’t make people change, but it was about changing myself.  I had to work on standing up for myself more, learning that I have the choice over my emotions.  I have also decided that there are no “HAVE TO’S” in life.

Take the time to put pen to paper and reflect over the coming week.  Be aware of the excuses that you make and notice the people in your life that are stoppers, even if that person is YOU.  Than simply make the choice to change and notice the differences that occur in your life.  I would love to hear how you go.

http://www.liveanddreamtoday.com

Leave a comment