How To Value Your Time

vbsd0147_ntsc

Most people don’t achieve what they want because they don’t place any value on their time.  Time is one commodity you can’t get more of.  You can always make more money, buy more stuff, but once you have used your time you are not going to get it back.  It is therefore up to you to value your time and allocate it to people and things that are worth your time.  If you do not understand or know the value of your time than you can’t expect anyone else to.  You are more than likely going to end up surrounding yourself with people who don’t value your time.

When deciding how you are going to use your time there are a couple of things you should ask yourself.

  • Is what I am about to do productive and moving me in the direction I want?
  • Is there something else I could be doing that would be more beneficial?
  • Do the people around me value my time?
  • Am I making the most of the time I have or simply paper shuffling?
  • Am I getting any enjoyment out of what I am doing? (It is important to have fun in life)
  • Could I organise my day different to make my time worth more?

So there you have it, a few questions to ask yourself tomorrow, next week or next month when you are making the choice as to how your time is being utilised.  While going through this please don’t fall into the trap of “I don’t have a choice”.  There is always a choice, we may not like having to make it and we may be unsure of the consequences, but there is always a choice.

What do you do to ensure you are valuing your time?

Leave a Reply

